Paucity of Candidates in Eastern Panhandle for 2020 Elections

It’s still early. Candidates have until January 25, 2020 to file their certificate of announcement with the West Virginia Secretary of State.

But with less than three months before the filing deadline, there is a paucity of candidates running for a slew of state and federal seats.

Of the ten West Virginia House of Delegate incumbents in the Eastern Panhandle, only four have attracted challengers so far.

In Morgan County, no challenger has filed pre-candidacy papers to run against Delegate Daryl Cowles (R-58) or Delegate Larry Kump (R-59).

Same for S. Marshall Wilson (R-60), Jason Barrett (D-61), Tom Bibby (R-62) and Eric Householder (R-64).

John Hardy (R-63) has drawn a challenge from elementary school teacher Lynneia Atkinson.

Sammi Brown (D-65) has drawn a challenge from Albert Craven (R).

Paul Espinosa (D-66) has drawn a challenge from school teacher Storme Frame (D).

And John Doyle (D-67) is being challenged by Mark Everhart (R).

In Morgan County, state Senator Craig Blair (R-15) is being challenged by Catina Webster (Libertarian Party).

Senator Patricia Rucker (R-16) is being challenged by Jefferson County Sheriff Pete Dougherty.

For Governor, there are a slew of Republicans challenging Governor Jim Justice in the primary, including former Delegate Mike Folk and former Commerce Commissioner Woody Thrasher.

On the Democratic side, Stephen Smith is blowing away the field in fundraising – raising more than $450,000 – more than any other West Virginia candidate for any state office.

At the federal level, Congressman Alex Mooney (R-2) is being challenged by Cathy Kunkel (D).

And U.S. Senator Shelley Moore Capito (R) is being challenged by Paula Jean Swearengin (D). 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.